Jerry Casey, Composer

Jerry Casey, Naples, Florida, has composed works in all genres from solo voice to full orchestra. Her works have been performed across the United States, and in London, England, Spain, and Slovakia. She has received the ASCAPUS award for over 20 years.

Recently she was awarded Honorable Mention in the Choral Category (shorter works) of The 2020-2021 American Prize for her composition, “Yet, I Will Rejoice,” for SSATB and Chamber Orchestra. Clink play button below to listen.

Yet, I Will Rejoice

Mrs. Casey was also named Finalist in the Vocal Chamber Category of The 2020-2021 American Prize for her work, “Bird Raptures,” for Soprano and Solo Flute. Click play button below to listen.

Bird Raptures

Take a look at the Performances tab above to see upcoming performances as well as recent ones.

Browse the Catalog for works in all genres.

Recent Performances

A new scene from Pilate’s Wife was performed Monday, February 26, 2013, at a private home with the composer as Procula, Pilate’s wife, Jan Nelson as Deborah, the Jewish maid, and Eileen Huston at the piano.

We’re Marching to Zion, Jerry Casey’s arrangement of the hymn tune for organ, was performed at the Society of Composers, Inc. (SCI) Region V Conference, April 11-13, 2013, at Clarke College, Dubuque, IA.

Three Moods for French horn and piano was performed on the “Sundays at the Huntington” concert sponsored by Women in Music – Columbus on Sunday, November 4, 2012, at 3:00 p.m. Performers were Helen Doerring, horn, and Phyllis Byard, piano. This work was also performed on Saturday, November 3, 2012, for Saturday Music Club at Worthington Community of Christ Church, Worthington, Ohio with the same performers.

The three scheduled performances of the new scene from Pilate’s Wife were cancelled because of the death of a family member of one of the performers. Instead Jerry Casey performed the opening aria, “Jerusalem! Caesarea! Rome!” for the Worthington Music Club, Monday, November 5, 2012, at a private home. Three Christmas songs by Jerry Casey were presented at the Women in Music – Columbus Member Musicale on Tuesday, November 6, 2012, at a private home. Performers for both events were Jerry Casey, soprano, and Eileen Huston, piano.

International Alliance of Women in Music Annual Concert 2012

Jerry Casey’s composition Oh, Death, Rock Me Asleep (poetry of Anne Boleyn, for soprano and solo violin) was selected for the International Alliance of Women in Music (IAWM) Annual Concert 2012, which was performed by Ensemble Pi at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) as part of the Livewire Festival of Contemporary Music on Sunday, October 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm.

This work appears on Jerry’s recently released CD Yet, I Will Rejoice. Performers on the CD are Jessica Kahn, soprano and Erica Donahoe, violin.

Christian Fellowship of Art Music Composers Conference

The regional conference of Christian Fellowship of Art Music Composers (CFAMC) held on November 5, 2011, at Nyack College, Nyack, New York, featured three of Jerry Casey’s works, Mine Were the Hands for voice and piano, recording of Prelude from Seven (A Suite for Orchestra) paired with the photograph, “Forest Light” (Paul Kiler), and the hymn tune Circle of Thorn (hymnody of Richard Leach).

Columbus Music Teachers Association Program

The Columbus Music Teachers Association (CMTA) (established 1930) numbers many fine central Ohio teachers among its membership including several Columbus Symphony Orchestra members. CMTA’s first program of the year, October 31, 2011, in a private home, featured works of Jerry Casey performed by members of the group and a few guests. These compositions included:

  • Our Love Mirrored (Violin and Piano), a world premiere, David Niwa, violin, Mariko Kaneda, piano
  • Celebrate 25! (Piano Trio): Leonid Polonsky, violin, Cora Kuyvenhoven, cello, Nina Polonsky, piano
  • One, Yet Different (String Quartet): David Niwa; Mako McEldowney, Ken Matsuda, Ruruko Makino
  • Seven (A Suite for Piano): Madeline Karn, piano
  • Fiesta, (piano four-hand): Laura Flowers Benson and Nightengale Chen
  • By Request (a collection of student pieces): Laura Flowers Benson, piano
  • O, Death, Rock My Asleep (Soprano and solo violin): Jessica Kahn, soprano, Henry Ma, violin
  • Out of the Depths (2009 Marilynn Etzel Piano Commission by the Iowa Composers Forum),Kathleen Sadoff, piano
  • Swingin’ Suite for Two Cellos, Renee Goubeaux and Cora Kuyvenhoven, cellos

Click here for pictures from the program.

New CD

Yet I Will Rejoice, a CD featuring the choral and vocal chamber music of Jerry Casey, was released on February 4th, 2011 through The CD is available for $13.97; the digital download for $9.99.

Here are some pictures from the CD release party on the campus of Otterbein University, Westerville, Ohio.

Review of Performance

We’re Marching to Zion, a work for organ, was performed at the annual conference of Christian Fellowship of Art Music Composers (CFAMC) on March 2, 2013, at Mississippi University, Clinton Mississippi, by Dr. Robert Knupp, faculty member. Walter Saul, a composer-member, wrote the following review in his blog:

Jerry Casey’s stunning arrangement of We’re Marching to Zion starts with a magnificent fanfare intro that explores the chromatic mediants of G Major (Eb Major, Db Major, Bb Major, and E Major), suggesting the whole world is marching to Zion. The melody is stated first simply in the right hand, then in the pedal (wonderful reed stop here!). Then motives of the theme are developed with some marvelous chordal parallelism involving more chromatic mediants and a modulation to A, ending brilliantly on a rather jazzy AM9. This fantasia unveils Casey’s love of this tune! She has studied the music of Olivier Messiaen and, even in this arrangement of a Gospel song, it shows. Robert Knupp, Mississippi College music faculty member, gave a spirited interpretation of this fine piece. The unmitigated joy and energy in this work – a rarity in much music these days – is certainly worth celebrating!