Yearly Archives: 2017

Seven (A Suite For Orchestra)

Seven, originally for solo piano, is based on the arch form, ABCDCBA. The Prelude is one-part, the March two-part, and the Waltz three-part. The Rondo is in classical rondo form. The final three movements, Waltz Retrograde, March Retrograde, and Postlude (Prelude Retrograde) are as the titles indicate–the first three movements backwards. Harmonies are mostly quartal throughout.

Listen to March (2nd movement)

LengthApprox. 13 minutes
Instrumentation2+1,2+1,2,2/4221/timp perc(2) harp pno cel strgs(9,8,7,6,5)

Item #O-002